The Fox Inn

 Reviews taken from Tripadviser

"Served up steak better than in USA"

5*

Reviewed August 2017

 

Had this pub/restaurant on our list to try while staying in Dorrington. Had a few drinks and ordered food. I ordered the burger with bacon and cheese and my husband had the 10oz sirloin. The dishes came out in good time,hot,big portion sizes and looked tasty . My husband raved about how fantastic the steak was which he doesn,t do very often and commented it was the best one he,d ever had including eating in Canada and the USA. The young man behind the bar said they get all their meat from a local butcher. My burger was also very good. We stayed and had deserts and chatted to the owner. If you are the area I would say you should give this place a try. It has lovely staff, wonderful food at good prices. I know that when we next come to Shropshire we will be eating at The Fox Inn again.

 

"Really worth finding this place"

5*

Reviewed August 2017

 

Staff were very friendly, particularly Stuart - said I would give him a mention; noticed whenever my wife's glass was empty and was happy to fill it again. Good food, the 10 oz sirloin steak was excellent with all the trimmings and from a farm just down the road. Real onion rings, delicious. The fish platter was delicious, very light and crispy batter. Wish we could have found room for a dessert, you can have one to take home if you wish. My daughter tried the salad with chorizo and grilled halloumi, she has been disappointed in the past but not this time, she was impressed.

 

"Great vegan options"

5*

Reviewed July 2017

 

My partner and I were on holiday at nearby Pigeon Door and the Fox Inn is a pleasant 25 minute stroll away. I am vegan and had sent an email in advance to see if any vegan options would be available. I was delighted when Sue replied attaching an entire menu of vegan options for me to choose from! All my emails were responded to promptly, and on the night we visited, everyone we met was so friendly and the food was great - My vegetarian partner really enjoyed his meal too. All in all, a lovely evening.

 

5*

Reviewed July 2017

 

We went here as a party of 8 . The food was served hot. All three courses were excellent . The service was brilliant . The staff were all very welcoming and very hospitable. Great value for money . A good British pub at its best .

 

"Wonderful Party"

5*

Reviewed July 2017

 

The day could not have been better in this lovely country pub Sue and John organised the food (which was plentiful and excellent) decorations flowers and alcohol without a hitch they were just brilliant. Thank you so much

 

"Service with a smile. "

5*

Reviewed May 2017

 

Visted on the way home from a rather wet weekend in Wales. I looked on TripAdvisor for a pub not far from retail park at Shrewsbury. We like independent pubs rather than chain's. I liked the look of the Fox so I rang ahead to book, the lady who answered the phone was really friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were greeted with a very nice welcome. The food was really tasty and it was good that there were choices other than the normal Sunday roast. Puddings homemade and very high standard. I would definitely recommend.

Partner and I called in on way home for impromptu lunch yesterday and we were very pleasantly surprised.

We were greeted by a gentleman who was very friendly and welcoming. There was no pressure put on us with regards to our order for food or drinks, and once we placed them, it didn't seem to be much of a wait for the food either :)

I opted for the fish and chips while the other half had the gammon.
The fish was beautifully cooked (and not oily) and crisp, like the kind you would taste at a seaside resort and the chips was crispy and fluffy.

We then opted for dessert, which isn't something we usually go for.
I had the cheesecake of the day (stem ginger and white chocolate) while partner had chocolate brownie

We were both very impressed with our experience and having had a read of the menu, cant wait to go back and try something else (the build your own burger seems a favourite with us both)

  • Visited October 2016
5 of 5
                                    bubblesReviewed 19 August 2016

Booked a meal here on 16/08/2016 and wasnt disappointed very friendly staff and lovely meals also dog friendly

5 of 5
                                    bubblesReviewed 3 August 2016

Booked the Fox for a suprise 60th Birthday Sunday lunch for my wife.There were 21 of us and the food was great with big portions and the service was quick and efficient with really friendly staff. Special thanks to John and Sue for making the day a great success and for the very lovely chocolate birthday cake


Brilliant menu

Reviewed January 2016

The Fox has to have the most extensive menu of any pub I know, and I've known a few. Have a look on their web site. When it comes, the food fulfils all expectations and the cooked dishes are served nice and hot.
This is much better than 'Pub-grub'. Freshly prepared with all sorts of idiosyncratic variations to enliven many of the dishes.
Nice atmosphere in this pub which seems to be off the 'Hooray-Henry' trail. Dogs welcome in the bar.
Splendid views over to the Long Mynd and the South Shropshire Hills AONB from inside and out. Good place to stop over for food when out walking.
A nice old pub with lots of history. If you want flash, plastic and 2 for £5 pre-cooked, give it a miss but if you want good, honest 'home' cooked food, give the Fox a try. Need a good appetite though!
You can tell that it's a free house because the owners are obviously committed to the business and seem to have been there for a considerable number of years.
Would eat there again.
  • Value 5*
  •  Service 5*
  •  Food 5*

Lovely pub just round the corner!

Reviewed 10 September 2015

We live locally - it's only taken us 18 months to visit the Fox. Went for lunch last week best steak pie I have had in years. Lovely old fashioned gravy - I had to ask for a spoon to finish it, it was so good. Husbands fish and chips really good - smashing fish. Returned last night for supper after a long day travelling and working in London. Great welcome, super steak with trimmings and husband had perfect scampi. Couple of drinks and home. Great place for us 5 minutes from home and big bonus they will do a take away meal for you. Super and friendly service. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2015
  • 5 of 5
                                        stars 5* Value5 of 5
                                        stars5 *  Service5 of 5
                                        stars5 * Food




Lovely welcoming country pub 5*
Reviewed 1 September 2015

My parents are about to move to the area and took me to show me their new home and the nearby villages. The one thing they hadn't found yet was a nice local pub which serves good food and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

The pub was pretty and set in a lovely spot with a sunny beer garden and a cosy bar and restaurant. My mum and I are vegetarian and the chef was happy to accommodate if we needed but the menu contained a range of veggie options so we were able to order straight from there. All three of us had different options but all agreed that the meals were tasty, good value and well presented. The barman and owner made us feel extremely welcome and I expect my parent are going to be regulars. In fact they're off there again today!

Visited August 2015

Friendliest Shropshire Hostelry!


5 of 5 starsReviewed 9 March 2015

We visited just over a month ago and could not wait to get back for a fantastic lunch; not forgetting the welcome from the friendliest bunch of staff and owners we have met in a long time.
This time we went in daylight! The whole place is spotless, including the Gentlemen's; cannot tell the reader about the Ladies' but we presume the same excellent standard of cleanliness!
We met another of the crew, Stuart, the Bar Manager who was 'on the ball' with his service-non better. He was great with what were obviously some of the regular 'ladies who lunch'. Nothing was too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed our very hot, quickly served mains and then partook of a delicious creation of ice creams, fresh fruit, brandy soaked biscuits and lashings of fresh cream. Not satisfied with that we took advantage of the take-away pudding offer and took away two large portions of fresh Bakewell tart and a large container of custard, which we enjoyed in the evening at home!
One word of warning, just put the postcode into the satnav and let it take you right to the door.
The Fox Crew have got service sussed!

  • Visited March 2015

5* 5 of 5 starsValue

5* Atmosphere

5* 5 of 5 starsService

                  5*5 of 5 starsFood

Visited February 2015

We were staying five miles away at Langley Gatehouse (Landmark Trust) and I had looked at the great Fox website (home produced),before we left home, so we put the postcode in the Tom Tom Europe on a cold dark evening and it took us right to the front door!
The Landlord John, Susan, the vivacious bar maid and the locals made us feel so much at home and we settled down by the fire, with the dogs, also warmly welcomed, comfortably under the table, to view the extensive menu. We settled for the steak and kidney pie,(so rare to find these days) and the 'build your own burger'. The dishes were served amazingly quickly and were huge and hot and very tasty. Greg was even asked how he liked his burger cooked! We were not disappointed! The bar staff were amazed that we had managed to be so greedy and clear our huge plates!
After time for the mains to be digested and lots of chat with landlord, landlady, bar maid and young locals we chose warm Belgian Waffle with choice of sauce, plus ice cream and Bakewell Tart with creamy custard-all homemade- yum yum!
Then, reluctantly, out into the cold and back to our gatehouse, taking loads of literature for future guests to peruse and, hopefully choose to have such an enjoyable visit to The Fox as did we.
By the way, driving back we were in procession with a family of deer for quite a distance!


5 of 5
                                      stars Reviewed 22 November 2014 

On a very wet evening we did not want to travel far to eat and so decided to try the Fox Inn as we were staying next door and we were not disappointed. We were very warmly welcomed and the fire was lit to ensure we warmed up after our damp walk to the Inn. As a vegetarian I can sometimes struggle to find menu choices that appeal, this was not a problem here. I had the field mushroom as a starter and the vegetarian platter as a main. Both were delicious and not the run of the mill veggie food you can be so often be confronted with. My husband enjoyed the skewered prawns and the scampi and mushrooms. After declining a dessert, I was tempted into having the waffle with cherries, well worth the temptation.
The service was very friendly and attentive, many eateries could learn some valuable customer service lessons here.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value 5*
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere 5*
    • 5 of 5 stars Service 5*
    • 5 of 5 stars Food 5*

Great Pub Meal”5 *****


5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 October 2014

Visited Saturday evening 11th October. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very obliging. Great food and atmosphere plus our dog was made welcome as well. Nice to see traditional standards are still going strong. Will definitely visit again. 10/10.

“Restaurant” 5*****


4 of 5 starsReviewed 14 September 2014

Good value for money. Locals very friendly. Seating outside. Lovely views. For us less than 5 minutes walk from where we were staying.

“Excellent food and friendly service” 5*****


5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 September 2014

First time eating in the Fox Inn and had to say was very surprised. The staff are so friendly and really knew the food and explained the positive points about each meal we considered.

I had the prawns to start which where fantastic and not over cooked, I then followed this up with the steak and kidney pie which was amazing, not too much pastry and plenty of gravy. The portion sizes are large and filling and I doubt you would fit a pudding in.

If you're looking for a meal or a drink in a pub which cares about its community and its customers then make sure you try here you won't be disappointed. Thanks for a lovely meal and a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 starsValue 5*
    • 5 of 5 starsAtmosphere 5 *
    • 5 of 5 starsService 5*
    • 5 of 5 starsFood 5*

            “A little gem” 5*****


5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 August 2014

Visited twice over August BH weekend and had a great time on both occasions although the weather was a bit grim. Made very welcome by the staff as was our dog. The food and beer was excellent as was the cider for the cider festival.
This is a great pub well worth a visit with staff who make you feel welcome even if you are not a local. Well done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 starsValue 4*
    • 4 of 5 starsAtmosphere 4*
    • 4 of 5 starsService 4*
    • 4 of 5 starsFood 4*

·         Restaurant” 4****

·         4 of 5 starsReviewed 14 September 2014

·         Good value for money. Locals very friendly. Seating outside. Lovely views. For us less than 5 minutes walk from where we were staying.

·          

·         Five star fox” 5*****

·         5 of 5 starsReviewed 8 July 2014

·         Great little pub in a lovely location. We enjoyed a really good visit! Friendly welcome & fantastic service! When asking for for my tomato & chilli risotto to be given even more of a kick, it was no problem & the food was excellent. Recommended!!!

Review from The Shropshire Star.

The Fox Inn, at Great Ryton, near Shrewsbury, had been recommended as a good place for a meal out.

Inside it was nice and warm, a proper village pub.

At the bar we checked our booking and ordered drinks. Locally-produced real ale is a specialty here, the pub being CAMRA accredited, and I settled on a pint of Shropshire Gold.

We sat down and decided on what to eat.

There is a good range of choices: plenty of fish, meat and vegetarian options.

I decided to begin with mussels cooked in white wine, cream and garlic, served with a bread roll. I followed this with scampi thermidor — peeled scampi with a mustard cream sauce topped with cheddar cheese

Alison decided to begin with a goat’s cheese salad. This consisted of breaded goat’s cheese, deep fried and served on a bed of leaves, with balsamic vinegar. For the main course she chose a mushroom risotto of wild mushrooms, onions and cream served on Arborio rice.

We were given a table not too near the entrance and next to a window and a radiator.

In the bar I’d picked up a wallet card for The Fox which boasted that “panoramic views across the Stretton hills can be enjoyed from the bar, terrace and restaurant”.

It’s a landscape that draws tourists and holidaymakers, so it’s a real pity that we came in the dark.

There is a bit of recent history behind The Fox. Ten years ago it was being written off and fighting the threat of closure. At one point it was looking like this public house would be turned into a private one. Step forward John and Sue Owen.

Local to the county, and with no pub background, they took over and have set about building up the business. They hold quiz nights, themed evenings and say they have pitched their food above standard pub fare.

The chef uses fresh local ingredients wherever possible.

The starters were of a very high standard. I’ve yet to meet a mussel that I’ve not liked, and these were particularly good, served in a wonderfully creamy sauce full of garlic. I was also given a second bowl for the empty shells and a third for washing my fingers. The goat’s cheese was equally good; warmed almost to melting and served with a decent side salad.

To drink we ordered wine. Once again there is a good choice, and we settled on a house red, which did not disappoint.

Our main courses maintained the standards set by the starters.

I was given a large, and very tasty, serving of scampi thermidor, with an equally generous separate serving of rice.

Alison’s risotto was equally good. Again, there was plenty of it, and we also had a side serving of vegetables, including broccoli and cabbage, to get through.

The service was good, but not intrusive. A waitress came to ask how we were, but other than that we were left in peace.

For dessert I chose cheesecake with chocolate ice cream. It was perfectly nice, but I wish I’d had the sticky toffee pudding Alison ordered; a home-made sponge floating in a bowl of toffee sauce in which a dollop of ice cream was slowly melting. (As luck would have it she was quite full by the time we got to pudding, so I finished it for her).

I thought The Fox was a real find and I’m glad we followed up the recommendation.

I hope we go back in the summer to sample those views.

MENU SAMPLE:

Starters:
Fresh tagliatelle — pasta served in chef’s own cream white wine, garlic and mushroom sauce

Main courses:
Stuffed peppers with pesto rice and served with a smoked cheese sauce, Breast of Duck served with roasted veg and an orange and ginger sauce

Sides:
Vegetables or salad, chips or potatoes.

Desserts:
Mixed berry crumble.
Mincemeat tart.

ATMOSPHERE: A proper village pub.
SERVICE: Excellent. Attentive and friendly.

Review by Andrew Owen.


Review from The Shropshire Star.

At the risk of repeating a colleague of mine who had a fine Sunday lunch at the Fox Inn over the winter, I too was staggered to think this beautifully situated pub could have closed. John and Sue Owen took on the 'lost cause' in September 2000 and I sincerely hope a queue of people thank them for that for a long time to come. This friendly couple don’t dwell on the pub’s somewhat controversial past ownership — former occupants wanted to turn it into a house — but most visitors would surely want to dwell on what must be one of the finest bar and restaurant views in the county — a wide sweep of the Stretton Hills and Caradoc with only a fine meal to distract you.

The Fox Inn

It was my first visit — but my colleague knew it inside out from her colourful past in the Young Farmers. We were both tremendously impressed by the pub’s re-birth. Their chefs conjure up an interesting and ever-changing menu for all tastes and budgets, while the welcome is warm and genuine. Gill and I gratefully accepted the chance of a table in the restaurant — complete with that resplendent view — and a notably fine pint of real ale, later we were tucking in to a pub meal as good as we’d had for many a long time.

Gill’s mussels were sizeable and accompanied by a thick, creamy white wine and garlic sauce with a hefty chunk of warm bread. Top marks there, no question. The zander and lemongrass caught my eye — largely because I have never seen it on a menu before.

A pike-like predator, the zander has spent most of its time since arriving in Britain from abroad pillaging its fellow freshwater fish, so from that point of view, I suppose I was doing nature a favour by eating one. Either way, it was superb. I was presented with a huge fillet of succulent, “meaty” fish, finely complemented by a bed of lemongrass and tasty vegetables. For fish fans, it’s definitely worth a try as a change from the more delicate and common salmon and trout offerings.

There was barely room for dessert but as all except the ice cream were home-made, the chance could not be turned down. Sticky toffee I later discovered is the most popular but my favourite, bread and butter pudding, was comfortably the second greatest I’d ever tasted.

The Fox Inn is another of Shropshire’s establishments which use fresh local produce wherever possible. Bookings aren’t necessary — but are advisable at weekends. And I’m hoping my lucky run of discovering some excellent pub eateries can continue...

ATMOSPHERE: Tranquil and exceptionally friendly.
SERVICE: Personal and attentive - superb.

Review by Nic Hanna.


The Fox Inn
Sunday Lunch Review

Just the job on a winter's day.

Good food, pleasant surroundings, nice atmosphere and a friendly service sum up the Fox Inn at Ryton, south of Shrewsbury. And let’s not forget the spectacular view, as the pub overlooks the Shropshire Hills.

Husband and wife team, Sue and John Owen, are the perfect hosts. They were very friendly and chatty to us and all their diners. Myself and a friend were made to feel at home on a cold winter’s day. Meals are served in both the restaurant and the bar. There are a host of dishes on offer - from meat and chicken to fish and vegetarian.

For starters Sarah opted for Chicken Liver Pate in Red Wine and Port Sauce. And I plumped for Prawn Cocktail. Sarah gave the pate the thumbs-up as I did for my starter. I couldn’t even finish it.

I had a huge glass dish filled with an enormous amount of prawns. For main course we both opted for the traditional Sunday roast. There was a selection of two roasts on offer, with other menu options — which proved to be great value.

Beef was our choice and, before we knew it, we were presented with a plateful of meat, vegetables and Yorkshire pudding. The beef was very tender and tasty as were the crispy roast potatoes.

And although we were very tempted by the range of puddings on offer, we had to admit defeat and opt for coffee to finish.

Take a look at our reviews on Tripadviser.
If you have enjoyed your visit to us let others know, if we could have improved on something please let us know!

2014 & 2015 & 2016
Certificate of Excellence

2015 Tripadviser Bravo Badge
  Rated 4 1/2 * by Tripadviser


Awards

 

Healthy Eating Award/dietary requirementsEating

 For the second year running we have been awarded the Gold Healthy Eating award!
The following article appeared in the Shropshire Star congratulating us.

The Fox Inn at Ryton Nr Dorrington in Shrewsbury run by licensees John and Sue Owen, are celebrating achieving a Gold Healthy Eating Award issued by Shropshire Council.
They were recommended for the award because their menus offer healthy choices, dishes are served with either chips, rice or potatoes and customers are offered salad and at least three vegetables with their meals. As meals are prepared when ordered this also allows them to accommodate many dietary requirements, Sue says ‘we have quite a few people who will come and dine with us because we do not mind altering ingredients for a customers needs, we may have a customer that has a medical intolerance to an ingredient or simply someone who prefers not to have a rich sauce with a dish as they are dieting. We recently had a gentleman who had fish and chips here, the first for many years as we were able to replace the flour in the beer batter for cornflour instead.’
Children are not left out either, The Fox realise children are better educated about their food now, especially after all the recent television campaigns and want fresh produce. They are offered their own fresh produce menu with pasta, fish and chicken dishes not nuggets or food in funny shapes. These meals are also prepared with no salt or additives, with the emphasis being on homemade fresh British produce.
To qualify for this award they also have to be in compliance with food hygiene regulations, and up to date with paperwork. The Food handling staff are all fully trained in food hygiene.
The large terrace at the front of the pub offers a section for non smokers as well as smokers, so everyone can enjoy the fantastic views of the Stretton Hills while dining or simply having a drink.
The Fox is recommended in many Good Food Guides is featured in the CAMRA Good Beer
Guide.

Score on the doors

We are awarded the highest level  -5!
We have maintained this highest level since the start of Scores on the doors.
Acknowledging our kitchen hygiene, management and food handling.

Pub Walk

Taken from Robert Smarts Pub Strolls in Shropshire, we are featured on the front cover!


Directions to start: - Take the A49 to Dorrington, 5 miles South of Shrewsbury, turn left signposted Ryton. In Ryton turn right and The Fox Inn is the last building at the far end of the village.

Park your car in the car park (please let us know you are going to leave your car to go on the walk) as you start and finish the walk at the pub!

The Walk

1:-        Turn right out of the car park and walk along the lane. Ignore any footpath signs on the right. One hundred yards after passing Hollywell Farm on the right, look for a stile on the left with a footpath signpost; there is another footpath sign and stile opposite on the other side of the lane.

2:-        Turn left over the stile and walk ahead with the hedge on your right. It is from here that you get the best views South Lawley is the nearest hill and further south is Caer Caradoc, reputed to be where Caractacus, a British chieftan, made his last stand against invading Romans. Cross the next waymarked stile and continue ahead, still by the hedge. Just after the kink in the hedge there is a field gate; cross the waymarked stile alongside it and continue in the same direction as before but now with the hedge on your left Cross the last stile by another field gate.

3:-        Turn left in a green lane and, if there is mud here keep to the left. The track soon becomes dry and, eventually, joins a metalled lane by a former farmhouse called The Hollies, the name of which is not shown. Continue ahead on the metalled lane until you come to some houses on the Eastern edge of the village.  Pass the village hall on your right and continue ahead. (If you are too tired at this point, turn left, at the end of the lane turn left, you will now see the pub on the right!) The Lane bends to the right at Ryton Farm holiday cottages and then bends to the left.

4:-        At the second right hand bend go straight ahead onto a level hard, dry track which skirts the back of the farm buildings and wends its way dead ahead between two open fields for quarter of a mile.

5:-        On reaching the next lane turn left and at the next road junction turn left again, signposted Ryton. Walk along this lane for only 100 yards and then you fork left again, still signposted Ryton. This new lane takes you back through the hamlet, past the letterbox, and out again. The pub is now straight ahead.

 

 

 
Home Events Sample Menu Contact Us Review